Be yourself, trust me, it’s enough.

Confession time. I often find myself asking God, to help me find the special thing about myself that makes me unique. I especially have been praying this prayer for the last year, because I realize, that in order to stand out, you must be different.  I feel like once I tap into that one thing that sets me apart from the rest, I will be unstoppable.

Before I share with you what the Lord told me this morning, I want to share with you what happened to me a decade ago.

Ten years ago, I was going through a divorce, and more than a decade before that, I’d been asking God, “Lord, what is my purpose?” I felt like once I knew my purpose, I could walk in it, and I’d be fulfilled. 

At the time, other areas of my life were going great! I was in Culinary College, married with two kids at the time, we had a house, two cars, and life was great! Yet, I didn’t know why I was here… I needed to know my purpose.

I felt like once I knew my purpose, I’d be able to walk in it, and I would be unstoppable… Sounds familiar, right?

So, back to 2013, I was going through a divorce, and it was hard, but I had peace in it. It was time. After the divorce, I moved to another state, and I began writing more. 

I’ve always been a writer since I was about four years old. I started with a love for rhyming words, then poetry, and then I began writing stories in either first or second grade.

I never thought that my purpose was in something I’d been doing my whole life, until two years after my divorce. I was talking to God and I told Him that I want to use my writing to help bring people out of heartbreak, whether it is from divorce, a breakup, a traumatic experience involving family, and more. I just wanted to help people heal. That’s when God said, this is your purpose.

So, since 2015, I’ve been writing books, eventually blog posts, and now podcasts, to help people heal. I absolutely love what I do, and could do it for twenty four hours a day, if I could, but for the last couple of years, I’ve been seeking that one thing that sets me apart from others.

There are billions of people in the world, but what makes me stand out from the rest? What makes you stand out from the rest? The answer may sound cliche and simple, but that doesn’t stop it from being true, and it’s simply- be yourself.

God didn’t just make your physical attributes unique, He made you in your entirety unique. 

I’ve been searching for that “it” factor that sets me apart from the rest, and this morning God simply said, “Be yourself.”

You see, years ago, in my pursuit of purpose, I was waiting for this grand thing to be revealed to me about myself, but my purpose was tied to a gift that I had all along. I was born to write, and although my divorce was traumatic, it birthed my purpose.

Now, in my current pursuit of that one thing that sets me apart from the rest, I realize, I don’t need to go find it, it’s already there!

It’s not in the way I style my hair, or the way I dress. It’s not in a certain job, car, or house. It’s not in what I have or don’t have outwardly, but everything that makes me different from the next person is inside of me- my heart, my mind, my soul.

This brings me comfort because I finally realize, I am special, I am unique, and I’m already unstoppable.

All I have to do is continue to be who God created me to be, allowing Him to lead me, and continue to walk purposefully, and it is enough. I am enough. You are enough.

So out of all the 7 Billion plus people in the world that you can choose to be… be yourself.

Being yourself is what makes you stand out in a crowd. Being yourself is what makes you wonderfully different.

So, as I begin to relish in who I am, I challenge you who’ve been feeling like there’s nothing special about yourself, to do the same.

I’ve been there.

Realize that your uniqueness may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it should be yours.

You should be able to sip the tea from your own cup first, and enjoy it!

Be you, and not an imitation of someone else.

Just Be… and don’t think too hard about what that means.

Be yourself- the you that God created you to be.

Jeremiah 1:5

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

Isaiah 43:1

“Now this is what the LORD says—He who created you, O Jacob, and He who formed you, O Israel: ‘Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; you are Mine!’”

Proverbs 18:16

“A man’s gift makes room for him, And brings him before great men.”