See my human/Hear my blackness.

They commit inhumane acts against us, as if we’re not human-
They say justice for all, but we are the exclusion-
It wasn’t enough, to steal us for trade-
to rob us of our identities and make us their slaves-
to break the structure of our families and rape our women-
to deny our men their birthright by locking them away in prison.
They have no sympathy and no shame-
these streets are like the hunger games-
when being black makes you a target-
they call us criminals, but they’re the ones who plotted-
They shoot us dead in the streets and then call us the monster-
but who’s really the beast, when you’re the hunter?
We’ve prayed and cried-
sacrificed and died-
the land of the free… and police brutality-
there’s no land of the free, when they’d rather see us six feet deep-
and if this doesn’t apply to you don’t get offended-
just respect my position-
if it was your son, your brother or mother, how would you deal with it?
Excuse my frustrations, but I won’t apologize-
until you see my human and hear my blackness, I will continue to scream BLACK LIVES-
MATTER! ✊🏾

See my human/Hear my blackness: A poem by Shubricca L Bell